chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Collège Saint-Sacrement

Collège Saint-Sacrement in Terrebonne, current home of the Quebec Festival of Youth Orchestras, came about in the early twentieth century from the wishes of the Fathers of Très-Saint-Sacrement to develop a juniorate, a house where young recruits trained. It so happened that the fathers bought for this purpose Manoir Masson, the prestigious residence built by Sophie Raymond Masson, widow of Joseph Masson, who was Seigneur of Terrebonne from 1832 to 1847.

This was the time, well before the establishment of Quebec public high schools, when the dioceses and religious congregations founded seminaries and offered young people the opportunity of a religious education. They also welcomed boys who, even if they were not considering the priesthood, were pursuing their studies and preparing to play a role in society.

Over the years this residence, now dedicated to education, received a host of young men with the will to strive for excellence, and who began their classical studies in an environment steeped in history.

Collège Saint-Sacrement
In the early 1960s the situation changed completely. Civil society was investing in a network of public schools and everyone had the opportunity to pursue their studies beyond the primary level. As the school population increased the seminaries which had been in place since the French regime had to either adapt or disappear.

Thus the École secondaire Saint-Sacrement (ESSS) took over from the Fathers of Très-Saint-Sacrement, continuing with more resources the work of education at the secondary level in Terrebonne that had started 70 years earlier. Without the Séminaire Saint-Sacrement, the ESSS would not exist, and without the ESSS, the Séminaire Saint-Sacrement would not have been able to continue.

The tradition has endured, and 100 years later, students – girls and boys – continue the same search for culture in an environment even richer in history and with the same enthusiasm as in the past. Collège Saint-Sacrement (as ESSS was renamed in December 1999) is proud of its roots and upholds its tradition of excellence in social, cultural and sporting achievements.

The current administrators consider themselves heirs and custodians of a precious heritage. They are committed to continuing the work of secondary and general education in Terrebonne started nearly a century ago with the same enthusiasm and selflessness brought by the religious founders.

In short, the Collège Saint-Sacrement is a school of life rooted in the past, solid and stable as the stones in its walls and looking towards the future as its towers point skywards.

Link to the college's website: www.collegesaintsacrement.qc.ca

chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Le Collège Saint-Sacrement

Le Collège Saint-Sacrement de Terrebonne, lieu du Festival des orchestres de jeunes du Québec, est né de la volonté des Pères du Très-Saint-Sacrement de se doter, au début du XXe siècle, d’un juvénat, soit une maison où se formaient les jeunes recrues. Le hasard fit que les Pères achetèrent dans ce but le Manoir Masson, la prestigieuse demeure édifiée par Madame Sophie Raymond Masson, veuve de Joseph Masson, qui fut seigneur de Terrebonne de 1832 à 1847.

Bien avant l’établissement au Québec d’écoles secondaires publiques, c’était l’époque où les diocèses et les congrégations religieuses fondaient des séminaires et offraient à des jeunes la possibilité d’une vocation religieuse. Ils accueillaient aussi des garçons qui, sans nécessairement penser à la vocation religieuse et sacerdotale, y poursuivaient leurs études et se préparaient à exercer un rôle dans la société.

Cette maison vouée à l’éducation reçut avec les années une pléiade de jeunes hommes qui y entreprirent des études classiques dans un milieu chargé d’histoire. Ils avaient la volonté d’atteindre des sommets d’excellence.

Le Collège Saint-Sacrement

Au début des années 1960, la situation a complètement changé. La société civile a investi des ressources, elle a mis en place un réseau public d’écoles secondaires, la possibilité de pousser ses études au-delà du primaire a été offerte à tous, la population scolaire a augmenté… de sorte que les séminaires établis chez nous depuis le régime français ont dû se transformer ou disparaître.

C’est ainsi que l’École Secondaire Saint-Sacrement a pris la relève des Pères du Très-Saint-Sacrement, poursuivant avec plus de ressources, plus de moyens, l’œuvre d’éducation au niveau secondaire commencée à Terrebonne 70 ans plus tôt. Sans le Séminaire Saint-Sacrement, l’ESSS n’aurait pu exister. Sans l’ESSS, le Séminaire Saint-Sacrement n’aurait pu continuer.

La tradition établie s’est perpétuée avec les années et, 100 ans plus tard, les élèves, filles et garçons, poursuivent cette même recherche de culture dans un milieu encore plus riche d’histoire et avec le même enthousiasme que par le passé.Le Collège Saint-Sacrement (l’ESSS est ainsi dénommée en décembre 1999) est fier de ses origines et vit dans la tradition de l’excellence au point de vue social, culturel et sportif.

Les gestionnaires actuels considèrent qu’ils sont héritiers et dépositaires d’un patrimoine précieux. Ils se sont donc engagés à poursuivre l’œuvre d’enseignement secondaire et d’éducation commencée à Terrebonne depuis bientôt un siècle avec le même enthousiasme, le même désintéressement que les religieux fondateurs.

En bref, le Collège Saint-Sacrement est une école de vie enracinée dans le passé, solide et stable comme les pierres de ses murs et qui regarde vers l’avenir comme ses tourelles pointées vers le ciel.

Lien au site Web du collège : www.collegesaintsacrement.qc.ca