chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Jean-Philippe Tremblay

concert

Guest conductor from Canada
Official spokesperson for Festival 2014

Jean-Philippe Tremblay is founder and musical director of the Orchestre de la Francophonie (OF). As guest conductor, Mr. Tremblay has directed prestigious European ensembles including the Orchestre National de France, the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, the Vienna Chamber Orchestra, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Spanish National Orchestra, and radio orchestras in Prague, Dresden and Budapest.

In America, Mr. Tremblay has been guest conductor of symphony orchestras in Winnipeg, Montréal, Québec City, London, Kitchener and Edmonton, as well as the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa, the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, D.C., the Orchestra of the Manhattan School of Music, the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas, and the Simón Bolivar Youth Orchestra.

Mr. Tremblay has conducted alongside numerous illustrious soloists, including Pinchas Zukerman, Augstin Dumay, Renaud Capuçon, Jean-Gihen Queyras, Marie-Nicole Lemieux and Alain Lefèvre, as well as many up-and-coming soloists representing the next generation of talent. At the helm of the O.F., he has led over 30 world premieres of commissioned works by as many young composers.

During the summer of 2013, Jean-Philippe Tremblay travelled to Central America to conduct the YOA (Youth Orchestra of the Americas), in addition to the OF concerts at the Domaine Forget International Festival, the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, and in Montréal. In the fall, he directed the opening concert of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra season, followed by engagements in Ottawa, Hamilton, Toulouse, Avignon, Manchester and London.

Jean-Philippe Tremblay studied viola, composition and conducting at the Conservatoire de musique du Québec in Chicoutimi, the Université de Montréal, the Pierre Monteux School, the Tanglewood Music Center, and the Royal Academy of Music in London with the renowned Seiji Ozawa, André Previn, Michael Jinbo and Robert Spano.

He is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards, including the Musician’s Prize at the Dimitri Mitropoulos International Competition for Conductors (in Greece), the Rose Roitman Award, the Joyce Conger Award for the Arts, and the Ordre des Bleuets for his contribution to culture in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region, and was made an honorary life member of the Golden Key International Honour Society. His recordings have won many awards, as well as critical acclaim from prestigious publications such as Gramophone and Diapason.

Jean-Philippe Tremblay is artistic consultant for the New York–based Tremblay Ensemble. As violist, he has participated in a number of prestigious festivals. He plays a beautiful Guillami 1753 viola, on loan from the Canimex foundation.

Mr. Tremblay is acting as spokesperson for the XVIIIth Festival of Quebec Youth Orchestras.

chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Jean-Philippe Tremblay

concert

Chef invité du Canada
Porte-parole du Festival 2014

Jean-Philippe Tremblay est fondateur et directeur musical de l'Orchestre de la Francophonie (OF). Il a été chef invité auprès de prestigieuses formations européennes dont l'Orchestre National de France, l'Orchestre philharmonique de Rotterdam, l'Orchestre de chambre de Vienne, le London Philharmonic Orchestra, le Philharmonia Orchestra, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, l'Orchestre National d'Espagne et les orchestres des radios de Prague, Dresde et Budapest.

En Amérique, il a été chef invité des orchestres symphoniques de Winnipeg, Montréal, Québec, London, Kitchener et Edmonton, ainsi que de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à Ottawa, du National Symphony Orchestra à Washington, de l'Orchestre du Manhattan School of Music, du Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas et de l'Orchestre des jeunes Simón Bolivar.

M. Tremblay a dirigé aux côtés d'un grand nombre d'illustres solistes, dont Pinchas Zukerman, Augustin Dumay, Renaud Capuçon, Jean-Gihen Queyras, Marie-Nicole Lemieux et Alain Lefèvre, et de nombreux jeunes solistes de la relève. Au pupitre de l'OF, il a dirigé plus de 30 premières mondiales d'œuvres commandées à autant de jeunes compositeurs.

À l'été 2013, Jean-Philippe Tremblay est allé en Amérique centrale diriger le YOA (Youth Orchestra of the Americas), en plus des concerts de l'OF au Festival international du Domaine Forget, au Centre national des Arts à Ottawa, et à Montréal. À l'automne, il a été au pupitre de l'Orchestre symphonique d'Edmonton pour l'ouverture de leur saison, pour ensuite diriger les orchestres d'Ottawa, Hamilton, Toulouse, Avignon, Manchester et Londres.

Jean-Philippe Tremblay a étudié l'alto, la composition et la direction d'orchestre au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Chicoutimi, à l'Université de Montréal, à l'École Pierre Monteux, au Tanglewood Music Center, et au Royal Academy of Music à Londres auprès des réputés Seiji Ozawa, André Prévin, Michael Jinbo et Robert Spano.

Il est récipiendaire de prestigieux prix, dont le Prix des musiciens au Concours international de direction d'orchestre Dimitri Mitropoulos (en Grèce), le Rose Roitman Award, le prix Joyce Conger pour les arts de la scène, l'Ordre du Bleuet pour sa contribution à l'essor de la vie culturelle du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, et il est membre honoraire à vie du Golden Key International Honours Society. Ses enregistrements ont remporté plusieurs prix et mentions, dont des recommandations de nombreuses publications prestigieuses comme Gramophone et Diapason.

Jean-Philippe Tremblay est conseiller artistique du Tremblay Ensemble, basé à New York. En tant qu'altiste, il participe à plusieurs prestigieux festivals. Il joue sur un magnifique alto Guillami 1753, prêt de la fondation Canimex. M. Tremblay agit comme porte-parole du XVIIIe Festival des orchestres de jeunes du Québec.