chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Johannes Schlaefli

concert

Guest conductor from Switzerland

The Swiss conductor and pedagogue Johannes Schlaefli began musical life as an oboist and developed his conducting technique through largely autodidactic study and through courses and assistantships with the likes of Erich Schmid, Mario Venzago, Leonard Bernstein, David Zinman and Bernard Haitink.

He served as music director of the Basel Chamber Orchestra for fifteen years, beginning his tenure in 1984, and was Principal Conductor of the Berner Kammerorchester from 1995-2012.  Currently he directs the orchestral ensembles at the University of Zurich and, as of the 2013-2014 season, he is Principal Conductor of the Kurpfälzisches Kammerorchester Mannheim.

As guest conductor he has appeared internationally with orchestras such as Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, Orchestra della Svizzera italiana, Prague Philharmonia, Kammerorchester Basel, Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Knoxville Symphony Orchestra and the Sao Paulo Symphony.

As a conducting pedagogue he has developed a distinguished name, both as Professor of Orchestral Conducting at the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste and through his international masterclass series. This has resulted in guest teaching engagements at the Universität für Musik und dastellende Kunst Wien, the Royal Northern College of Music Manchester, the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin and the Deutsche Dirigentenforum Ithaca College.

chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Johannes Schlaefli

concert

Chef invité de Suisse

Le chef d'orchestre et pédagogue suisse Johannes Schlaefli a débuté sa carrière musicale comme hautboïste. Il a appris la direction d'orchestre de façon essentiellement autodidacte ainsi qu'au moyen de cours et de stages auprès de grands du domaine, notamment Erich Schmid, Mario Venzago, Leonard Bernstein, David Zinman et Bernard Haitink.

M. Schlaefli a été directeur musical de l'Orchestre de chambre de Bâle pendant 15 ans à compter de 1984, et chef principal du Berner Kammerorchester de 1995 à 2012. Il dirige actuellement les ensembles orchestraux de l'Université de Zurich et, depuis la saison 2013-2014, est chef principal du Kurpfälzisches Kammerorchester Mannheim.

Comme chef invité, Johannes Schlaefli a dirigé de nombreux ensembles internationaux, dont le Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, l'Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra, l'Orchestra della Svizzera italiana, le Prague Philharmonia, le Kammerorchester Basel, le Hong Kong Sinfonietta, le Knoxville Symphony Orchestra et le São Paulo Symphony.

En tant que pédagogue en direction d'orchestre, Johannes Schlaefli s'est taillé une solide réputation à la tête du programme de direction d'orchestre de la Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, à Zurich, en Suisse, ainsi que grâce à sa série internationale de classes de maître, ce qui lui a valu des invitations à enseigner à la Universität für Musik und dastellende Kunst Wien, au Royal Northern College of Music de Manchester, à la Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin et au Deutsche Dirigentenforum Ithaca College.