chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Oriol Sans

concert

Guest conductor from the United States

With energy and an exceptional musical maturity, Catalan conductor Oriol Sans stands out as an emerging young artist. He has performed with orchestras in America and Europe, and studied with some of the most acclaimed contemporary maestros and musicians. His most recent engagements include guest conducting the San Juan Symphony in Durango (Colorado), the Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco in Guadalajara (Mexico), the Santa Fe Symphony, and the New Mexico Philharmonic. Oriol has been an assistant conductor to maestros Kenneth Kiesler, John Nelson, Jerry Blackstone, Martin Katz, Andrew Grams, and Leonard Slatkin with several orchestras and projects, including a production of the Damnation of Faust by Berlioz in Lisbon with the Gulbenkian Orchestra, the Ensemble Orchestral de Paris for their concerts in the Festival de Saint-Denis and in the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra.

A native of Catalonia, Spain, Oriol began his musical career as a student at the Escolania de Montserrat, the renowned boys' choir. He went on to study Orchestral and Choral Conducting at the Barcelona Conservatory, receiving the school’s Honors Award in both specialties upon graduation. Following his training in Spain, Oriol brought his studies to the United States with maestro Kenneth Kiesler at the University of Michigan, where he received his Master’s degree in Orchestral Conducting in 2008 and his Doctorate in Musical Arts in 2011.

Oriol was the recipient of the Dorothy Greenwald Scholarship for promising instrumentalists, conductors, and composers as well as a scholarship granted by the Agustí Pedro i Pons Foundation for upper level musical studies. He has complemented his conducting training by attending master classes in Spain, Austria, Germany, England, France, Canada and the United States. In addition to his degrees in music, he also holds a Bachelor's degree in Humanities from the Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona, and completed graduate courses in musicology at the Barcelona Universitat Autònoma.

As music director of several groups, choirs, and orchestras in Catalonia, Oriol led as a faculty member at the Mollerussa School of Music, the Lleida Conservatory, and the Lleida University. He was the music director of the University of Michigan Campus orchestras from 2008 to 2010, and he held the position of Music Director of the Life Sciences Orchestra from 2010 until 2013. His operatic experience includes Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin, Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro and Verdi’s Falstaff. In addition to his engagements as a conductor, Oriol also works as the score reader for the Detroit Symphony Orchestra for their webcast series.

chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Oriol Sans

concert

Chef invité des États-Unis

Grâce à son énergie et sa maturité musicale exceptionnelles, le chef catalan Oriol Sans se distingue parmi les jeunes artistes émergents. Il a dirigé des orchestres en Amérique et en Europe et a étudié avec certains des maestros et des musiciens contemporains les plus célèbres. Plus récemment, il a été chef invité de la San Juan Symphony à Durango (Colorado), de l'Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco à Guadalajara (Mexique), de la Santa Fe Symphony, de même que du New Mexico Philharmonic. Oriol Sans a été chef adjoint des maestros Kenneth Kiesler, John Nelson, Jerry Blackstone, Martin Katz, Andrew Grams et Leonard Slatkin auprès de divers orchestres et dans le cadre de différents projets, dont une production de la Damnation de Faust de Berlioz à Lisbonne avec le Gulbenkian Orchestra, avec l'Ensemble Orchestral de Paris lors de concerts dans le cadre du Festival de Saint-Denis de même qu'au Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, et avec le Detroit Symphony Orchestra.

Natif de Catalogne, en Espagne, Oriol Sans a débuté sa carrière musicale comme élève membre du célèbre chœur de garçons Escolania de Montserrat. Il a par la suite étudié la direction d'orchestre et de chœur au Conservatoire de Barcelone et a terminé avec le prix d'honneur dans les deux disciplines. Sa formation terminée en Espagne, il est venu poursuivre ses études aux États-Unis auprès du maestro Kenneth Kiesler à l'Université du Michigan, où il a obtenu une maîtrise en direction d'orchestre en avril 2008, suivi d'un doctorat en Arts musicaux en 2011.

Monsieur Sans est récipiendaire de la bourse Dorothy Greenwald pour instrumentistes, chefs et compositeurs prometteurs, de même que d'une bourse octroyée par la Fondation Agustí Pedro i Pons à des fins d'études musicales supérieures. Il a complété sa formation en direction au moyen de classes de maîtres en Espagne, en Autriche, en Allemagne, en Angleterre, en France, au Canada et aux États-Unis. En plus de ses grades musicaux, il détient un baccalauréat en Sciences humaines de la Universitat Pompeu Fabra de Barcelone, et a suivi des cours de deuxième cycle en musicologie à la Universitat Autonóma de Barcelona.

Oriol Sans a été directeur musical de nombreux groupes, chœurs et orchestres de Catalogne, et a été membre du corps enseignant de la Mollerussa School of Music, du Lleida Conservatory et de la Lleida University. Il a en outre été directeur musical des orchestres du campus de l'Université du Michigan de 2008 à 2010, et a occupé le poste de directeur musical du Life Sciences Orchestra de 2010 à 2013. Il a dirigé deux productions opératiques, soit Eugene Onegin de Tchaïkovski, Les Noces de Figaro de Mozart, et Falstaff de Verdi. En plus de ses engagements comme chef d'orchestre, monsieur Sans agit comme lecteur de partition pour les webdiffusions du Detroit Symphony Orchestra.